Friday Finds is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading. Each Friday, bloggers are invited to post about potentially great books we’ve heard about/discovered this week.

Here are my finds:

The Danish Girl by David Ebershoff.  Jennifer reviewed this over at Rundpinne.  She says: “The reader is introduced to Greta and Einar Wegener, both painters yet with differing subjects, Greta paints portraits and Einar paints landscapes, yet each is devoted to supporting the other’s works, dreams and desires. In 1925 Greta needed Einar to don a pair of hose and shoes to finish a portrait, since Anna had canceled yet again, and during this session Lili was born. Ebershoff’s novel is very loosely based on the first transgender surgery performed in 1931 on artist Einar Wegener who became known as Lili Elbe.”

I have to admit, I’ve known about this novel since it first came out 10 years ago.  Because I bought it.  And read it.  I bought it for the cover (a different one, a painting), which was beautiful.  Only I was around 14 or 15, and so I’m not sure how much I was able to get out of it at the time.  So I’d like to read it again.  Thanks, Jennifer, for the reminder.


Fugitives and Refugees: A Walk in Portland, Oregon by Chuck Palahniuk.  This was reviewed over at Fizzy Thoughts.  She says: “there is also plenty of information about where you can go to watch (and participate in) lewd movies (seriously people, there’s some weird shit happening in Portland), where to stay if you’d like to see a ghost, how to talk like a local, Santa hijinks, how to eat at the Apocalypse Café, and what Katherine Dunn (yes, the author of Geek Love) thinks of her fellow Portlanders (is that the right term?).”

 

I’d never heard of it, and I’m not really a Palahniuk fan.  (Okay, I’ve only read Fight Club).  But I am a fan of Katherine Dunn, so I’d like to pick it up just for her thoughts.


A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry.  This was reviewed by Matt over at A Guy’s Moleskin Notebook.  He says: “A Fine Balance is a roiling swirl of humanity. Adopting the voice of an epic rather than polemic, the novel captures the sufferings of the outcasts and innocents who try to survive the “State of Emergency” in 1970s when, under Indira Gandhi, India becomes a country ruled by thugs who maim and kill for money and power. It depicts a time when bribery is rife, starvation ubiquitous, and artificial calamity incessant.”

 

I’ve seen this book around, and the cover both intrigued me and put me off, but I never really looked much farther than that.  Matt’s review put this firmly on my “to-read” list.  Thanks, Matt!


The Making of a Marchioness by Frances Hodgson Burnett.  This was reviewed by Carolyn at A Few of My Favorite Books.  She says: “At first it seems to remain just a normal sweet little English story, but gradually it ventures into some very unexpected ground, that seems much more like a Victorian sensation novel! […] For a while it becomes almost eerie, Emily seems trapped in this beautiful English country house, pregnant, with her husband gone off on a business jaunt to India, while the people who would have inherited her husband’s estate if he hadn’t gotten married or if she hadn’t gotten pregnant, come back from India and scheme to get the inheritance anyhow…”

 

My first book review on this blog was of Burnett’s The Secret Garden, which I just love.  I was unaware that she wrote any adult novels, and I’m really looking forward to seeing if it’s just as enjoyable.

Upcoming: Review of The Graveyard Book tomorrow, and East of Eden review to follow in a few days.

