Friday Finds at Should Be Reading

Friday Finds is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading. Each Friday, bloggers are invited to post about potentially great books we’ve heard about/discovered this week.

Here are my finds:

So Much For That

Connie (over at Constance Reader) enthusiastically reviewed Lionel Shriver’s book, So Much for That, last week.  The story goes like this: Shep, dreaming of moving to a developing country to live simply, saves for years for the move.  Once he feels his bank account is adequate, he tells his wife he’s quitting his job and moving.  She can go or not.  Unfortunately, she asks him not to go, revealing that she has been diagnosed with cancer and needs to keep his health insurance.  He sets aside his dream, and watches his savings dwindle as he pays for what his insurance policy won’t cover, which ends up being quite a bit.

I’ve not read, or even heard of Lionel Shriver, and I have to say I’m often wary of books “with an agenda.”  But Connie assures us that it’s not all about health insurance, that’s it has a lot to say about people, about dreams, about life.  I read the first couple of pages on amazon, and was fairly impressed.  It’s high up on my to-read list.  Thanks, Connie, for pointing me to it.


Impatient With DesireCaribousmom reviewed Gabrielle Burton’s Impatient With Desire last week.  Though the book title does nothing for me, the cover art is absolutely fantastic.  Kudos to the artist.

Apparently, the story mostly portrays the women of The Donner Party, a group of pioneers heading to California.  Delayed by the new route they took, they spent a long winter in the Sierra Nevada Mountains, many dying from illness and starvation, others resorting to cannibalism to survive.  Caribousmom’s review is fascinating, and I hope to be able to say the same thing about the novel eventually.


Over at Find Your Next Book Here, Jenners took a vacation.  When she returned, she said a few words about the books she read (on the beach!).

Admittedly, the Mister has been trying to get me to read Sarah Water’s Fingersmith for a couple of years.  But the Mister has a habit of getting me to read books that he is interested in (but hasn’t read) so that I can tell him about the book and he can decide if he should bother reading it.  So I often ignore his recommendations.

But Jenner’s glowing (perhaps it was all the sun) words about the book made me do a double-take.  Heading on over to amazon, I see that it is described like this:

“Fingersmith is the third slice of engrossing lesbian Victoriana from Sarah Waters. … This hypnotic suspense novel is awash with all manner of gloomy Dickensian leitmotifs: pickpockets, orphans, grim prisons, lunatic asylums, “laughing villains,” and, of course, “stolen fortunes and girls made out to be mad.”

Well, okay then.  Just don’t tell the Mister I’ll be reading it.


Troll: A Love StoryEva over at A Striped Armchair posted a fascinating review of Troll: A Love Story by Johanna Sinisalo.  Eva says: “It’s like a fable, thriller, meditation on sex and love and the morality of both, all stuffed into one slim book.”  I can’t describe the plot in any way that does justice to it, so go read Eva’s review!

I’ve put this one on hold at my library, and can’t wait to get my hands on it.

What books did you discover this week?

